In order to obtain an SIA licence you will need to show that you are trained to the right level. This applies to front line staff only.

To get one of the qualifications linked to Public Space Surveillance (CCTV) licensing you will need to attend and take two training modules and take and pass two exams. The course may be delivered over four days or during weekends and/or evening sessions. The duration of the training should be  32 hours.

 Core Learning and Qualifications for a CCTV (Public Space Surveillance) Licence

 Unit 1: Working within the Private Security Industry (Core Learning for Common Security Industry Knowledge):

  • Session 1: Awareness of the Law in the Private Security Industry
  • Session 2: Health and Safety for the Private Security Operative
  • Session 3: Fire Safety Awareness
  • Session 4: Emergency Procedures
  • Session 5: The Private Security Industry
  • Session 6: Communication Skills and Customer Care

 Unit 2: CCTV Operations (Public Space Surveillance) Specialist Module:

  • Session 1: Introduction to the Roles and Responsibilities of the CCTV Operator and other CCTV Staff
  • Session 2: Codes of Practice, Operational Procedures and Guidelines
  • Session 3: CCTV Equipment and its Operation
  • Session 4: Control Room Communications and Access Control
  • Session 5: Legislation
  • Session 6: Dealing with Incidents
  • Session 7: CCTV Surveillance Techniques
  • Session 8: Emergency Procedures in the CCTV Control Room
  • Session 9: Health and Safety at Work in the CCTV Environment

Note: `Vulnerable People and Sexual Exploitation` training is now included within the 4 days course (mandatory from 1st November 2013).


 How is the qualification assessed?

CCTV training is divided into 3 units and is assessed through 2 multiple-choice examinations and a practical test. These units are as follows:

 UNIT 1: Working in the Private Security Industry

Assessed by a 40 minute, 25 question multiple-choice examination.

Candidates must achieve a score of at least 18 out of 25 to pass this unit.


 UNIT 2: Working as a CCTV Operator:

Assessed by a 1 hour, 40 question multiple-choice examination.

Candidates must achieve a score of at least 28 out of 40 to pass this unit.


 UNIT 3. Practical use of a CCTV System:

Assessed by your EZ Training tutor and externally moderated by HABC (Awarding Body) to pass this unit.



Exemption and Part-exemption Arrangements

 If you already have some form of UK qualification in CCTV operation it may mean that you are exempt from all or part of the SIA approved training.

 Source: SIA  (Security Industry Authority):